Ohio students become finalists for the International Science & Engineering Fair

Dublin, Ohio – A total of 95 students from 39 high schools competed at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair for the opportunity to advance to the Regeneron International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF), the world’s most prestigious STEM competition for high school students. Sponsored by the AEP Foundation, the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair is a program of The Ohio Academy of The Science

2021 ISEF Finalists Announced at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair

Mr. Mihai Crisan – 11th Grade, Upper Arlington HS (Upper Arlington)
Mr. Johan DeMessie – 10th Grade, William Mason HS (Mason)
Mr. Anish Gupta – 11th Grade, Sylvania Northview HS (Sylvania)
Mr. Haroon Lughmani – 11th Sylvania Northview HS (Sylvania)
Mr. Ameya Saraf – 11th Grade, William Mason HS (Mason)
Ms. Lisa Sebastian – 12th Grade, Bethel HS (Tipp City)

These six (6) students have been selected to compete at the 2021 ISEF, where they will join 1,700 otherstudents from 70 countries and territories to compete for nearly $4,000,000 in scholarships and awards.  “These students have been led by their curiosity to find new discoveries and answers to their questions.”,said Michael E. Woytek, Executive Director of The Ohio Academy of Science. This year’s projects included the development of an advanced photonic circuit design to challenge conventional solid-statecircuitry and creating a novel, low-cost technology to help developing countries remove heavy metals from water supplies. Woytek added, “our event celebrates and encourages today’s students to use inquiry and
design to solve problems that improve the human condition”.

A total of 39 high schools were represented at the 2021 Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair.

They included:

Anderson High School – Cincinnati
Anthony Wayne HS – Whitehouse
Arcanum HS – Arcanum
Athens HS – Athens
Beaumont School – Cleveland Hts.
Bellbrook HS – Bellbrook
Bethel HS – Tipp City
Bloom Carroll HS – Carroll
Bounty Collegium – Toledo
Canfield HS – Canfield
Carroll HS – Dayton
Dayton Regional STEM School – Kettering
Dublin Coffman HS – Dublin
Dublin Jerome HS – Dublin
Fayetteville Perry HS – Fayetteville
Findlay HS – Findlay
Hathaway Brown – Shaker Hts.
Hawken School – Gates Mills
Hilliard Darby HS – Hilliard
Hilliard Davidson HS – Hilliard
Jackson HS – Massillon
Laurel School – Shaker Hts.
Lehman Catholic HS – Sidney
Mentor HS – Mentor
New Cleveland HS – Miller City
Milton Union HS – Milton
Olentangy HS – Lewis Center
Ottawa Hills Jr Sr HS – Ottawa Hills
Padua Franciscan HS – Parma
Solon HS – Solon
Summit Country Day – Cincinnati
Sylvania Northview HS – Sylvania
The University School – Chagrin Falls
Upper Arlington HS – Upper Arlington
Versailles HS – Versailles
West Geauga HS – Chesterland
Westlake HS – Westlake
William Mason HS – Mason
Worthington Christian HS – Worthington

For more information, about The Ohio Academy of Science, please call 614-389-2182 or email
mwoytek@ohiosci.org. Additional information can also be found at:


Lake News
Author: Lake News